Jacek Adam Chmiel

He started to play guitar in 2002, inspired by progressive rock and metal music. After a few years he switched to jazz, contemporary and experimental music, both as a performer and as a composer.

From 2006 to 2013 he approached jazz studies with some of the finest musicians in north and eastern Europe: Piotr Domagała, Grzegorz Motyka, Martin Schaberl, Harry Tanschek, Karim Martusewicz, Gary Wittner, Willem von Hombraht, Wojciech Niedziela, Grzegorz Nagórski, Karol Ferfecki, Jacek Niedziela-Mejra, Piotr Baron, Robert Majewski, David Doruzka, Robin Eaubanks, Alex Sipiagin, Gean Jackson, Joris Teepe, Frank Wingold, Freddie Bryant. During his studies he had the chance to perform many jazz concerts with several bands.

In 2013 he started exploring free improvisation, being one of the founders of a collective called ‘The Elementary Particles’ (based in Poland). They played many concerts in Poland and did several sonorizations for silent films.

In 2014 he joined the Poleshift Project (Malwina Kołodziejczyk – saxophone, Jakub Miarczyński – drums), a free improvisation trio.

From 2014 to 2016 he completed his jazz music studies in Conservatorio Benedetto Marcello (Venice, Italy) with Andrea Massaria, Giovanni Mancuso and Cristiano Calcagnile, focusing on free improvisation, contemporary and experimental music.

In 2015 he was one of the founders of the BAU Quartet (Raul Catalano – drums, Federico Pozzer – piano, Glauco Benedetti – tuba), a group that mix free improvisation, experimental music and aleatoricism. During the same year he started his collaboration with Pietro Girardi (pianist), finding a great connection from the very beginning.

In 2016 he gained the Peggy Finzi Scolarship (3rd prize) offered by the Venice Conservatoire, joined the project 6’27 by Mauro Sambo, collaborated in a duo project with his teacher Andrea Massaria and performed at the Nuova Musica Festival in Venice.

In 2017 he played several free improvisation concerts with musicians from Poland, Italy and France (Sabah Al Ani, Paulina Owczarek, Lucio Tasca, Kamil Korolczuk, Marcin Bożek etc.).